Breeders Cup History

The History of the Breeders Cup

The history of The Breeders Cup history is relatively short, with its first running in 1984. In 2008 it made a new step forward as for the first time it had 11 races spread out over two days and they are run on a Friday and Saturday.

The history of the Breeders’ Cup comes down to a number of US racing leaders, headed by John Gaines who thought it would be a good idea to set up the Breeders Cup Races to promote the sport, and act as a showcase and finale to the racing season, with a multimillion dollar total purse.

The very first Breeders’ Cup took place on November 10, 1984 at Hollywood Park, California. The Breeders Cup day has become everything to the US Horse Racing season with everything building up to it much like the Cheltenham Festival in England.

The Breeders Cup was created as a year-end championship for North American thoroughbred racing, and today because of the fantastic prize money which is now getting close to the $20 million mark attracts the best from all round the World.

The features on the second day of the card are the Breeders Cup Juvenile, Breeders Cup Turf, and the Breeders Cup Classic which are traditionally the last three races on the card.

Breeders Cup Records

All Time Breeders Cup Wins For A Jockey
• Jerry D Bailey – 15

All time Breeders Cup Wins For a Trainer
• D.Wayne Lukas – 18

Horse To Have Won a Breeders Cup Race Twice
• Tiznow – 2000, 2001 – Breeders Cup Classic
• Ouija Board – 2004, 2006 – Filly and Mare Turf
• Bayakoa – 1989, 1990 – Ladies Classic
• Miesque – 1987, 1988 – Mile
• Lure – 1992, 1993 – Mile
• Da Hoss – 1996, 1998 – Mile
• Goldikova – 2008, 2009 – Mile
• Midnight Lute – 2007, 2008 – Sprint
• High Chaparral – 2002, 2003 – Turf
• Conduit – 2008, 2009 – Turf

Breeders Cup Horse bets at All Horse Racing